Tags

So I actually ran out of time and didn’t finish this one with the day off I had. This was quite a huge job to tackle. Being the entrance of our house, this is where we leave our clothes, bags, mail and phones. This is also the space where we have the “command center” (which still needs some serious fine tuning, will be a separate post once ready). This is the space that connects the bedrooms, kitchen and living room so there is quite a lot traffic in here at all times.
image

We have a big mirror cabinet where we keep our jackets and kids outdoors clothes, shoes, biking helmets and my scarfs. In the upper cabinets we have cords and had the empty containers. Now I left the space open.
image

Then there is this small counter with cabinets, where we keep the kids hats and gloves as well as some random stuff that has no other place (hubbies shooting hobby (no guns here!!) stuff, my heart rate monitor, umbrella, ikea bags, blankets for stroller etc). This counter has always been really messy and hard to keep clear. I tried adding some candle decoration on it to keep it serene and clear but it didn’t help. I tried to add a pretty basket on it but it ended up so full that we put a cup on it to keep more stuff on it.
image

Clearly this is a clutter space where thing tend to pile up. I feel that there needs to be a basket for this clutter but I realized I could hide the basket in the cabinet. Lets see if that helps.
image

image

In the open shelves I have small baskets for the kids hats that are currently in use. The little lady loves to dress up so she often picks up these baskets to dress herself (the hat is the only thing she can dress on her own). These are really easy as they are light and the kids know to put their hats (and gloves) here.

Feels a lot bigger space now that there’s some air around 🙂

