Tags

,

I usually don’t like so much fruit cakes but after I saw this recipe on the baking magazine (Koristeelliset kakut = Cake decorating, issue 6), I wanted to give it a try. First I thought doing a small cake but ended up doing cupcakes. As usual, I put less sugar but also a bit more fruits and seasoning. And in the original recipe you should use normal and sultan raisins but our store had run out on the latter, so I put just normal raisins. And I don’t like walnuts so I used almond crush.

WP_000854

FRUIT CAKE CUPCAKES (10 smallish cupcakes)

2 dl flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp ginger bread seasoning

100 g butter

0,75 dl sugar

1 egg

1 orange

2,5 dl raisins

1/2 apple

0,75 dl almond crush

10 cherries

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 C
  2. Mix the butter and sugar until foamy
  3. Add the egg
  4. Mix the flour, baking soda and seasoning (through a shifter), and add to the butter mix
  5. Grate the orange skin and add to the dough
  6. Add the raisins
  7. Grate the apple half and add to the dough
  8. Add the almond crush
  9. Add the cherries (1 in the middle of the muffin and push it in the dough, I forgot to put the cherries so I decorated the cupcakes with them!)
  10. Bake for 20 min and let cool down

marzipan

lemon curd

  1. Add some lemon curd on top of the muffin, and cut a circle from the marzipan
  2. Add other decorations if you wish (I attached the cherries I was supposed to put in the muffins with royal icing)

I was surprised how good these cupcakes were! I usually hate raisins in baked things but in this they were ok. And maybe if I had had also sultan raisins in here, the cupcakes would have been even better! The marzipan with lemon curd gave a nice balance to the sweet fruity muffins!

