Tags

,

We were playing again with the guys and due to the busy weekend, I had to do (again) something fast, so I decided to make a cake. We hadn’t have time to go for grocery shopping for a week so I had quite a limited choice of bakings. For some reason I always have ingredients for chocolate things so I decided to make a small chocolate cake with ganache frosting.

Ok, so not so fast in the end since I kept finding more and more ingredients that needed to be used. My mom had some hallons in the freezer and I had some double cream and cream cheese that needed to be used, so I used these for the filling.

The cake and ganache recipes are modified from the Koristeelliset kakut (Cake decorating) issues 1 and 3, again less sugar and I added some chocolate to the cake. The filling I made from my head and the decorations are also leftovers.

WP_000801

CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY CAKE (small cake)

115 g butter

0,75 dl sugar

2 eggs

1,2 dl flour

0,5 dl cocoa

2 tsp baking powder

50 g chocolate

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 C
  2. Mix the butter and sugar until foamy
  3. Add the eggs one at a time
  4. Add the flour, baking powder and cocoa (through a shifter)
  5. Cut the chocolate into small pieces and add to the dough
  6. Bake for 35 min and let cool down
  7. Cut the cake (I cut into 3 sections)

2 dl double cream

100 g cream cheese (I used mascarpone)

100 g rasberries

2 gelatine sheets

  1. Whip the cream
  2. Add the cream cheese and raspberries
  3. Soak the gelatine sheets in cold water for 10 min, melt in the raspberry juice (or about 3 tbsp of water) and add to the mix
  4. Line the cake tin with plastic sheets and put one cake section (the top of the cake, upside down) in the bottom
  5. Add half of the filling
  6. Put second cake section and add the rest of the filling
  7. Put the last cake section (the bottom of the cake, it’s more even than the top)
  8. Let the cake rest for at least 2 hours in a fridge (I had only one hour, not enough!)

1 dl double cream

100 g chocolate

  1. Heat the cream (don’t boil!) in a small pan
  2. Add the chocolate and stir until it has almost melted into the cream
  3. Whip the chocolate lightly and put into a bowl
  4. Let cool down in room temperature for an hour and then another hour in fridge (I didn’t have time for the fridge part)
  5. Frost the cake with ganache and decorate

 

To make this cake faster, I first made the cake and then prepared the filling and frosting while the cake was in the oven (and ate lunch while the cake was cooling down). The cake behind is made by a friend of mine (you can see also leftovers from the previous days moving, tiny cupcakes), we had a cake party since I didn’t know he’d bring a huge cake (leftover from his birthday party)! Total sugar coma.

