Tags

,

I was feeling a bit down for few days so I decided to make the ultimate comfort food, carrot cake. I had just bought some silicon muffin cups from Ikea so I made small cakes with them. The recipe is actually the same I did earlier, but now I didn’t have oranges at home so I used milk instead for the liquid. I didn’t want to jeopardize the taste so I made the cakes only a little low-carb, meaning I replaced the sugar with sweetener, added a bit more almond flour and a bit less normal flour than what was in the original recipe.

WP_000756

CARROT CAKE (8 small cakes or 8 muffins)

110 g butter

1 dl sugar/sweetener

2 eggs

1 orange or 0,75 dl milk

1 dl flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp ginger bread seasoning

1 dl almond flour

1 dl almond crush

2 carrots

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 C
  2. Mix the butter and sugar/sweetener until foamy
  3. Separate the egg whites and yolk and add the yolks to the mix
  4. Add the orange juice or milk and mix
  5. Add the flour, baking powder and seasoning (through a shifter) and mix
  6. Add the almond flour and crush, and mix
  7. Whip the egg whites into hard foam and add it to the dough
  8. Grate the carrots and add to the dough
  9. Fill in the cups (2/3) and bake for 35 min
  10. Let cool down

CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

75 g butter

100 g cream cheese

1/2 dl powdered sugar

2 tsp lemon juice

  1. Mix all the ingredients until even
  2. Put in fridge for 20 min
  3. Add the frosting
  4. Enjoy and try not to eat everything at once!

For some reason while baking the cakes loose some of the butter and it easily spills, so paper cups are no use with this recipe. I had the same problem when I made the cake earlier, but it just tastes so good I’m too afraid to change anything! So let it spill!

