Tags

, ,

We were playing (as we do every other weekend) with the guys and I wanted to bake some chocolate cupcakes for them.

WP_000737

LOW-CARB HAZELNUT CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES (12 muffins)

200 g chocolate (70 %)

150 g butter

6 eggs

1 dl sweetener

3 1/2 dl hazelnut flour

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C
  2. Melt the butter and chocolates and let cool down a bit
  3. Separate the egg whites and yolks
  4. Whip the yolks and sweetener until foamy
  5. Add the melted chocolate
  6. Add the hazelnut flour
  7. Whip the egg whites into hard foam
  8. Add 1/3 of the egg white foam into the chocolate mix
  9. Carefully add the chocolate mix into the 2/3 of the egg whites
  10. Fill in the cups (2/3, though these don’t rise so much)
  11. Bake for 25-30 min and let cool down

VANILLA FROSTING

2 dl double cream

2 teaspoons vanilla sugar

0,5 dl quark

food color

  1. Whip the double cream  and sugar
  2. Add the quark (you can also leave it from this)
  3. Frost the muffins and decorate

They tasted a bit watery to me but in general they were ok. The recipe was a bit too complicated for my taste (especially when there’s not so much ingredients anyway!), though it is flourless… After two days I ate the last one and it tasted the best! So storing in the fridge improved the taste.

I also tried to make the frosting a bit special by adding a stripe of color to the piping bag before adding the whipped cream. I guess it shouldn’t be a surprise that the whipped cream is too light to get the color, so the last two cupcakes had the effect I wished for. Will definitely work better with the general frosting.

As it was Mothers Day on the day we played, I added hearts on top of the cupcakes. For myself 😀

