Tags

,

These whoopies were also for my friends wedding party (instructions were chocolate and vanilla, and pink as hell!). The recipe is from the baking magazine (Koristeelliset kakut = Cake Decorating) though I cut down the amount of sugar (the recipes tend to have too much sugar for my taste so I basically always take half away) and for the brown whoopies I added cocoa powder. For the frosting I took a shortcut and used chocolate and strawberry powdered sugar to get the color. Also regular powdered sugar is fine, you can add the color and taste as you wish. Just note that the size of the powdered sugar boxes is different!

WP_000732

CHOCOLATE AND VANILLA WHOOPIES (~30 whole whoopies of each)

125 g butter

1,2 dl sugar

1 egg

5,4 dl flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2,25 dl buttermilk

1,5 teaspoons vanilla extract or 1 dl cocoa powder

pink food color

water

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 C
  2. Mix the butter and sugar until foamy
  3. Add the egg (whip it a bit before)
  4. Add the dry ingredients (through a shifter, add the cocoa for the brown ones)
  5. Add the buttermilk (and vanilla extract and color for the pink ones) and mix until the dough is even
  6. Add water until the dough is right consistency (a bit runny, not too much)
  7. Use a piping bag to get more even “cookies” (I used a macaron tray too)
  8. Bake for 13 min and let cool down

CHOCOLATE/STRAWBERRY FROSTING (enough for the recipe above)

50 g butter

100 g cream cheese

2/3 box of chocolate or strawberry powdered sugar

  1. Mix all the ingredients and pipe on a whoopie “cookie”
  2. Place another “cookie” on the frosting
  3. Let rest in fridge for few hours

 

The frosting doesn’t deal well with warm temperatures, unfortunately after few hours in room temperature the top of the whoopies started to slid off because the frosting started to melt. So you need to be a fast eater with these!

While making these I realized that this recipe from the baking magazine is actually for whoopies, not for macarons as I first thought (the pic in the magazine looked like macarons so I was confused!). I also realized that whoopies are more cake-like, and macarons are those crunchy ones (I have never tasted or actually even seen ones!).  There’s so much to learn!

