Tags

,

A good friend of mine had a wedding party and she denied me to buy anything for her, so I asked could I at least bring something with me. I asked for a flavor and color, and the answer was vanilla and chocolate, and pink as hell! I knew immediately what to do. I saw a picture of red velvet cake (originally from Bakerella, translated in Finnish by Kakkusankari) and decided to go with the cupcakes.

WP_000731

RED VELVET CUPCAKES (15 muffins)

3 dl flour

0,5 dl cocoa powder

0,5 teaspoons baking powder

225 g butter (if saltless, add some salt)

2,4 dl sugar

2 eggs

1 dl sour cream

0,5 dl milk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

red food color

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 C
  2. Mix the dry ingredients
  3. Mix the sugar and butter until foamy
  4. Add the eggs one at a time
  5. Add the sour cream, milk, vanilla and color (I made a mixture of these and added it)
  6. Fill in the cups (2/3) and bake for 25 min
  7. Let cool down well

VANILLA FROSTING

100 g butter

200 g cream cheese

1 box powdered sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  1. Mix everything and add the frosting on the muffins

I had found earlier perfect paper cups (they were so adorable, they had roses at the bottom!) and for the decoration I used pink marshmallow fondant butterflies I had made few months back. I just added some edible glitter on them (brushed the butterflies with wet paint brush and sprinkled the glitter on them, let them dry over night). Initially I thought of dying the frosting as pink too but then I thought it needs to be white, it looks better and I was thinking about the husband too!

Even though I was not perfectly happy with the frosting (I think I need a bigger tip, I had in my head a bit different shape), and the muffin cups detached from the muffins, in general I was happy with the result. And (almost) most importantly, these tasted really good! (I had a conversation with another friend who’s studying to be a cook, who said that the most important thing for him is the taste, he doesn’t care about the looks, whereas for me the looks is the most important thing. Superficial, huh? 😀 )

