Tags

,

I came a cross to a low-carb whoopie recipe on one blog (Alakarpisti, in Finnish) and decided to give it a try as my macaron recipe trasformation didn’t work out. (Soon after the first tryout I actually went to buy a macaron tray, totally makes a huge difference!) The macaron tray I bought is made of silicone and you can fit 48 cookies, meaning 24 filled cookies. The dough below is enough just for this tray, how perfect!

The first patch I made failed too, for some reason the dough was too dry. So I added some milk, and some more milk. Until I decided to do a totally new patch of dough. The failed ones are nice small sweet snacks though!

The second patch I did exactly like the first one but I had the milk ready to be added. Though now I didn’t need it! Don’t know what I did differently, all the ingredients were the same, the same temperature… Oh well, the recipe works (or not, have milk ready) nicely!

WP_000715

WHOOPIES (24 filled cookies)

0,8 dl coconut flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

50 g cream cheese

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

0,8 dl sweetener

  1. Preheat the oven to 150 C
  2. Mix the cream cheese, eggs, vanilla extract and sweetener into even mixture
  3. Add the coconut flour and baking powder (through a shifter)
  4. Add the dough to the macaron tray (about 1/2 teaspoons was enough for my tray) and bake for 18 min
  5. Let the cookies cool down

You’re actually supposed to use e.g. general butter-sugar icing for this but I had some double cream I needed to use, so I whipped it and added a little vanilla sugar into it. Then I iced the cookies (and ate them, well not alone, my men helped me). Even though artificial colors don’t kind of “belong” into low-carb lifestyle, next time I’m going to make the bright colored ones, though these did look what they tasted (vanilla that is).

Btw, what is the difference between a whoopie and macaron? Macarons are those artificially brightly colored ones, maybe more cookie like? I don’t know but that’s how I see the difference in my head.

