Tags

,

Here’s how I do marshmallow fondant myself. White marshmallows are obviously easiest to color but our supermarket sells only colored ones, so I buy a bag containing white and light pink marshmallows (Haribo Chamallows, tasting vanilla and strawberry), the pink ones are so light it doesn’t mess up with the coloring. I learned how to do marshmallow fondant from Kinuskikissa webpages (in Finnish). If stored right marshmallow fondant is usable for at least weeks (well protected from air, I store mine in double bags). The five pieces of fondants below are made from one bag of marshmallows.

WP_000696

MARSHMALLOW FONDANT

1 bag of marshmallows

water or e.g. peppermint extract

oil (I use canola oil)

powdered sugar

food color

  1. Grease a bowl with oil
  2. Put the marshmallows into the bowl and add 1 tablespoon of water or some flavor extract if you wish (or liquid food color)
  3. Heat the marshmallows in a microwave (about 2/3 of max) for 30 sec at a time and when the marshmallows start to melt, stop heating
  4. Add some powdered sugar into the bowl and start kneading, add sugar when you need it
  5. If you’re using only one color you can add it earlier but if you are using multiple colors, divide the still sticky fondant into pieces and add the color (at this point you really can’t use liquid food colors anymore)
  6. Knead and add sugar until the fondant is not sticking into your fingers anymore
  7. Put the fondant into a plastic bag and let rest for over night (the color deepens and the fondant condenses)
  8. Next day place a baking paper on a table and add some powdered sugar on it and start working on the fondant
  9. If you’re going to cover the whole cake with this (or a cupcake), put some icing between the cake/muffin and fondant to help it stay put (and you can make the surface even with the icing), note that especially on cakes the fondant tends to shrink a bit when stored in fridge, so don’t cut it too close to the edge but leave few millimeters extra to it. Or if you’re making decorations, let them dry overnight (room temperature, protected from light) or longer, depending on the size. After completely dry, you can gather them and store well protected from moisture.

WP_000697

Above is what I got from my blue piece of fondant (on the top right corner you can see all what was left, it’s that little ball), I usually try to do small amounts because smaller pieces are easier to roll, also warmer fondant is easier to shape. I have a wooden rolling pin without handles (we call it pulikka in Finnish) made by my husband when he was a kid, and I’ve found it to be best for rolling fondant, though in many places people use plastic rolls (I don’t have one).

I also have to mention that those penguins (or pingi (=pingviini in Finnish) as my son calls them) are so cute! A friend of mine told me that at one store at our town has a really good selection of baking stuff (I haven’t visited that store for ages) so one day I had some extra time and oh my gosh! It was like I had come to a candy shop! (The selection in general in here is quite bad, I you want something special, you need to order it online.) I had only 20 min but I managed to buy one bag full of stuff, including that penguin (when I saw it I immediately thought of our son and how he’d be so delighted to see this on a cupcake 🙂 ) They had few other animals too and I think I have to find some time to go there again, I didn’t have time to browse through all they had…

WP_000698

