Tags

, ,

Our kids baby cousin was coming to visit us with his mom for the first time (with grandmom) and I wanted to make some cakepops for them. I found a hazelnut cake recipe from one of my low-carb cook books (Karpin juhlaruokaa) so I tried it. I used Candy Melts instead of dark chocolate for the frosting, though Candy Melts do have less sugar than the baking dark chocolate I’m using! And for the decoration I used regular nonpareilles, so these weren’t so low-carb, but enough for me! And really good! Also the guests liked these, a lot 🙂

WP_000664

LOW-CARB HAZELNUT CAKEPOPS

6 eggs

3 1/2 dl hazelnut flour

1 1/2 dl sweetener

2 teaspoons baking powder

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C
  2. Separate the egg whites from the eggs
  3. Add the sweetener to the egg yolks and mix into light yellow foam
  4. Add the hazelnut flour to the yolk foam
  5. Mix the baking powder and egg whites and whip into a hard foam
  6. Add 1/3 of the white foam into the hazelnut-yolk and mix
  7. Carefully add the hazelnut-yolk mix into the egg white foam
  8. Pour into a cake tin and bake for 60 min

200 g cream cheese

Candy Melts

  1. After the cake has cooled down, crumble it and mix with cream cheese (I used orange flavored)
  2. Make balls from the dough and let cool down in a fridge
  3. Dip the sticks in Candy Melts (I used leftover dark chocolate) and stick into the cake balls, again store in fridge to let the chocolate to solidify
  4. Dip the cakepops into Candy Melts (or 70 % chocolate if you wish) and decorate (with e.g. coconut flakes for low-carb)
  5. Let cool down in a fridge

So I tried the Candy Melts for the first time, and as usually, I had to practice to use even this easy thing! The first color (yellow) I put in a too small cup where the cakepops didn’t fit (of course I didn’t test if they fit or not), so I needed to use a spoon to frost the pops. The second color (orange) I overheated so it lost its consistency and became a bit grainy (again used spoon to frost). For the third color I finally managed to do it right, so the green and blue ones were finally looking ok. Maybe now on I can do some easy dipping on the pops! 😀

