Tags

, ,

My mom makes the best tiger cakes ever but instead of using her recipe, I modified a recipe from the baking magazine (Koristeelliset kakut = Decorating cakes). I used stevia sweetener instead of sugar, coconut flour instead of normal flour and increased the amount of milk (and no water). Also I increased the amount of cocoa since I wanted darker color on the cake.

When I took the cake from the oven, the smell was stunningly good! The cake was really fragile so of course I broke it in half when I took it out from the cake tin. Luckily I had planned to put ganache on it anyway so it was fixable (and easy to hide).

When stored in a fridge the cake condensed and wasn’t so fragile anymore. And it tasted sooooo good! I was so happy to succeed! 🙂

WP_000668

LOW-CARB TIGER CAKE (small cake)

110 g butter

1 dl sweetener

2 eggs

few drops of vanilla extract

1,5 dl coconut flour

1,5 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 dl milk

2 teaspoon cocoa

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C
  2. Mix the butter and sweetener into a creamy mix
  3. Add eggs and vanilla extract, mix
  4. Carefully mix the coconut flour and baking powder (through a shifter), mix until the dough is even
  5. Add the milk and split the dough in to a half (put on other bowl)
  6. Add the cocoa into the other dough and mix well
  7. Butter the cake tin and add the doughs one table spoon alternately (because they aren’t so well mixable in a small cake tin)
  8. Bake for 60 min and let cool down

GANACHE

150 g chocolate (70%)

1,5 dl double cream

  1. Heat the cream (don’t boil at any time!)
  2. Add the chocolate and stir well, until all the chocolate has melted
  3. Take the mix from the stove and whip lightly until it becomes even and shiny
  4. Pour on the cake and let cool down
