Tags

, ,

I’ve been planning to start low-carb diet (again) since I felt better (less bloated, more energized and had less stomach issues) and I want to lose the rest of the extra kilos I’ve gained during the last year. I have been on this diet before but slowly floated back to eating chips, rice, pasta etc. I was on the diet again while pregnant with her since I had gestational diabetes mellitus and the low-carb diet saved me from insulin shots (also helped with the abnormal craving for sweets and excess weight gain, though I did gain (as did with him over 20) almost 20 kilos). But then she was born and I started to eat “normally” again.

Low-carb diet has been in my mind all the time but the first months I was learning how to be with two small kids and had no time to cook anything that took more than 15 min. Cooking pasta, rice and potatoes is just so easy, and babies stomachs don’t really handle many green things (like peas, beans or cabbages,  all which I prefer in low-carb diet) very well when breastfeeding.

I’ve been doing some experiments lately, her stomach doesn’t appreciate onions or mushrooms but I’ve been able to eat peas, cauliflower and broccoli without any issues, so now I’ve decided to start again and try to make this a life long habit. Luckily baking is not forbidden, I have these great books (Karpin keittokirja 1 & 2) that have many recipes for this diet, including baked goods. Before I’ve done only mud cake (good!).

So I’ve started to experiment how do these basically sugarless things taste. We have some cranberries in our freezer to be used, so I tried a blueberry muffin recipe with cranberries.

WP_000638

LOW-CARB CRANBERRY MUFFINS (6 smallish muffins)

3 eggs

3 tablespoons butter (melted)

3 tablespoons sweetener (I used 2,5 sugar)

drop vanilla extract (I used 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar)

0,6 dl coconut powder

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1,2 dl cranberries

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 C
  2. Mix the eggs, butter, sweetener and vanilla extract
  3. Add coconut powder and baking powder (through a shifter)
  4. Add the berries carefully to the dough
  5. Fill in the cups (I put 3/4)
  6. Bake for 18 min

I have to admit, I was surprised how good these were! I don’t like the taste of coconut on its own and was a bit worried that the muffins will taste too much like it, but the difference to normal flour taste was minimal! I didn’t have any artificial sweeteners at home so I used normal sugar. To my disappointment the muffins didn’t look like (in the picture in the book) normal muffins but I think my dough was a bit too dry (cranberries were frozen and don’t loose so much of its juice into the dough as blueberries do). Need to add maybe some milk next time. It was amazing how tasty these muffins were, and one muffin was really enough!

My next project is to find some good recipe for the frosting, so I could make cupcakes! Sugar icings and marshmallow fondants are just what they are and I doubt there’s much option for these… But at least I could eat cupcakes still! I already have some ideas, I just need to test them…

