Tags

,

A friend of mine had her house warming party and I didn’t really know what to get for her. So I decided to make some cupcakes for her. We always fight about which is better, blue or red (she loves blue and I hate it, I love red and she hates it, though I have seen a pink! dress on her!!!!).

So I did blue, purple and green chocolate cupcakes for her party. (I wanted to experiment with the colors. And had three icing bags ready 😉 ) She is on low-carb lifestyle, so I cut down the sugar a bit and replaced half of the flour with almond powder. I also used 70% chocolate. For the frosting I didn’t dare to start experimenting, so a lot of sugar in it still. She can either eat it or eat it! Unfortunately I totally forgot to take pictures of the cupcakes. Luckily I had saved three of the ugliest for the family, so here’s a pic of those!

WP_000579

CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES

3 eggs

2 dl sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla sugar

50g butter

1 dl sour cream

2 dl flour

1,5 dl almond powder

2 teaspoons baking powder

4 tablespoons cocoa

some salt

100g chocolate

  1. preheat the oven
  2. whip the eggs and sugar
  3. melt the butter, mix it with sour cream and add to the egg-sugar mix
  4. add the dry ingredients (through a shifter, except the almond powder) and mix carefully
  5. melt the chocolate and add to the mix
  6. fill in 2/3 of the cups
  7. bake 175 C for about 20 min
  8. let the muffins cool down

120 g butter

8 dl (500g) powdered sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla sugar

200 g cream cheese (I used orange flavoured)

  1. mix all the ingredients into smooth frosting
  2. dye if you wish (I used Wiltons icing colors)
  3. put frosting into a fridge for about 15 min

While icing the cupcakes, I got a huge aha-experience. If I want to have flatter and bigger icing, I need to push the tip, not to let the icing fall down like in royal icing! Also, the cream cheese made all the difference, now the frosting wasn’t too sweet to me! Yay!

